E.L.F. Cosmetics Review

SAMIKA is a South African online store specializing in the import of our favorite international make-up brands. A few to mention are; Anastasia Beverly Hills, Colourpop, e.l.f, Makeup Geek, Morphe, and Juvia’s Place. The owner, Sameera is kind and helpful and will guide you through your purchase.

A few weeks back I received a press drop from Samika containing the below items. Sam was kind enough to send me not one, but two different E.L.F Foundations to try out as well as a Concealer.

Eyes Lips Face, also known as e.l.f. Cosmetics, is an international cosmetics brand based in New York City. Founded by Joseph Shamah and Scott Vincent Borba in 2004, it sells products largely at $1, $3, and $6 price points.

The makeup goddess in me squealed in excitement! I mean who doesn’t love testing out new products.

The service and response received from Samika was impeccable! Sameera and I liaised multiple times over social media and she was considerate enough to find out my preferences first as well as have me pick out my foundation shades.

  1. e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation (RRP-R210)

elf-83114-1

e.l.f states:  Achieve a flawless complexion with the silky smooth e.l.f. Studio Flawless Finish Foundation. The lightweight and oil-free formula blends in naturally for a beautiful semi-matte finish. This liquid foundation applies easily and lasts all day for visibly brighter and radiant looking skin. Using our Flawless Finish Foundation not only restores uneven skin textures and tones, but most importantly, the SPF 15 protects your skin against harmful sun damage!

Packaging

I was pretty shocked with the packaging, I was expecting much less for the relatively cheap price tag attached. You are getting 0.8 oz -236.588 ml which is just a little bit less then any regular foundation, 10 oz – 295.735 ml. The bottle is a pump dispenser which is a major pro! This makes it easier to control how much product you want, which means less wastage! It is also much cleaner and hygienic. The great part about the packaging is, the product looks more expensive then it’s actual price, you are getting a frosted glass, pump bottle dispenser all for R210!

Shades

Unfortunately, there are only 5 shades to choose from -this could be quite frustrating if they don’t provide for your skin color, however they do try and cover most shades ranging from neutral, light to darker skin tones.

As we all might know, choosing your foundation shade over the internet could prove to be a very challenging task, and just my luck I picked a shade which is almost 2 shades darker then my actual skin tone -Caramel. Nonetheless, I still went ahead and used it too see how magical this best seller actually is.

Coverage

The e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation provide a medium to full coverage. The product itself is generously moisturizing and feels like food for the skin – if you suffer with dry skin you will love this. The product has a similar scent to that of sun-screen, however this wears off shortly after application. I generally have combination skin and found that the foundation positively left my skin with a dewy finish.

I really like the coverage provided, it’s great if you suffer with dark spots, blemishes or acne and leaves your skin looking flawless.

Wear Time

I was really impressed with the overall longevity of this foundation. For the inexpensive price tag attached it lasted 10+ hours and left the skin looking dewy and unblemished all day.

Overall Opinion

I will definitely be repurchasing this foundation in my correct shade. I generally do not wear foundation but this one ticked all the boxes for me. The coverage is not heavy or unnatural, and could pass for daily use.

2. e.l.f. Acne Fighting Foundation (RRP-R190)

13895_83121_900px_new_deptimg-jpg-_deptimg

e.l.f. states: This lightweight acne fighting foundation works to disguise redness, blemishes and uneven skintone. The flawless coverage foundation formula is infused with acne fighting key ingredients Salicylic Acid, Witch Hazel, Camphor, Tea Tree and soothing Aloe, to help prevent and treat acne blemishes.

Apply to clean & moisturized skin.  Squeeze a small amount on to a sponge, fingertips, or a foundation brush & starting at the center of the face blend outward.  One layer gives a natural finish or apply in build-able layers for fuller coverage.

Packaging

The package comes with 1.21 oz – 35.78 ml – of product, which is just a little bit more than average. It’s not a giant bottle, but then again it’s pretty cheap so it balances out. This foundation retails on the Elf Cosmetics website for $6 and you can also find it online at Samika South Africa. The Acne Fighting Foundation contains Salicylic Acid, Witch Hazel, Tea Tree (which I know are good for acne) as well as Aloe which has soothing properties and Camphor Tea (which is apparently good for your skin, although not specifically for acne).

As far as the packaging is concerned, it does not have a pump dispenser, which does tend to make things messy, however I do appreciate the squeeze tube which is quite user friendly.

Shades

Like the e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation above, the e.l.f. Acne Fighting Foundation is also very limited when it comes to different shades as there are only 6 shades to choose from.

My foundation is in the shade Buff.  This suited my skin tone much better compared to the incorrect shade I chose above in the e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation. I am actually glad I chose two different shades in the two foundations, this allows me to mix and match to get my perfect shade!

Coverage

I have read that certain Acne Fighting Make-Up Products can result in the skin feeling tight or experiencing tingle, although I did not notice any of the above with this foundation. It does not break me out and I use it to calm my skin when I do break out, but I still want a full face of makeup.

A thin layer evened out my skin tone & hid the redness on my skin. I was so galvanized with the coverage on this! I was also able to build it up a little in the areas I needed more coverage. It provides a medium-heavy coverage and looks natural on the skin. I was concerned that it might feel heavy, for the coverage provides, however it does not. It blends really well and settles into the skin nicely, although I do recommend setting it with a powder! The final finish is not completely matte, it is more of a more of a satin matte finish.

I would recommend only up to 2 layers of this if you’re using a brush because it can start to look a bit like you’re in fact wearing too much make up – CAKEY -. But the Beauty Blender really gives the best look for me with this foundation.

Wear Time

It lasts really well, it’s not quite as long lasting as Double Wear, but if it’s been set with some powder and has a primer underneath then it will definitely last up to 4-5 hours.  It doesn’t get too oily, but it does transfer a little bit in the T-zone or around the nose and chin. I usually blot it with a bit of powder during the day which seems to counteract this.

Overall Opinion

In a foundation I like medium to full coverage, a shade that matches me, suitable for oily skin, long-lasting and one that doesn’t break me out. This foundation ticks most of those boxes for me.  It’s amazing coverage for a drugstore foundation.

Aside from its Acne Fighting properties, my favorite thing about this foundation is that it gives completely full coverage while still looking like natural, and without feeling heavy.

The e.l.f. Acne Fighting Foundation is absolutely amazing for the price! It’s perfect for a working day, especially if you’ve got some acne or break outs and you want to wear a full face of makeup.

As for the claims from the website, I agree with everything they mention though I’m not sure I saw any benefits from the acne fighting ingredients, maybe that’s because I generally don’t have acne however I did not break out either while using it, so that’s a plus. I would suggest this for normal to combo skin because I believe it would last longer, but would not really recommend this for super oily skin.

What is your favorite foundation? I’d love to know!

3. e.l.f Studio Concealer Sticks (RRP-R45)

11725_83172_900px_2_deptimg-jpg-_deptimg-1

e.l.f claims: Conceal acne spots, discoloration, under-eye darkness or any other place desired with this twist up concealer. The creamy lightweight texture blends evenly for a natural full coverage that lasts. Convenient for fast and effortless makeup touchups.

  • Twist up the concealer and gently pat onto areas that need coverage.
  • Then, using your finger or a concealer brush, pat out the product to blend

Packaging

The e.l.f Studio Concealer Sticks comes in glossy black packaging.  The concealer itself is in the form of a ‘twist pen’ which did not appeal to me. It’s so much easier for it to get detached from the mechanism or fall out like a broken lipstick which would be devastating.

Shades

There are 3 shades available, namely, Ivory, Honey, and Tan. I got the shade Honey, which is a perfect match for my skin tone. Ivory is pink based so it should do well on lighter skin tones with a pinkish undertone. Tan, at the moment is the darkest shade but I hope that darker colors will come out at some point.

Coverage

The e.l.f Studio Concealer Stick provides a fair-medium coverage. It is great for concealing under eye dark circles, blemishes or unwanted pimples, however I would recommend first using a colour corrector to get the best coverage out of your concealer.
It conceals dark circles with ease but will crease if you do not blend and set it well. It sets really fast and does not budge for anything other than soap or make-up remover. The concealer is not greasy which I loved, and leaves a rather matte finish -which is what you want in a concealer.

Overall Opinion

The product is small, when I twisted it up I expected more but then I guess it reminds me of a lip stick. I would say it was about the same size as a lip balm in terms of quantity of product.
When you apply it first, every pore will be visible! Thankfully, after blending it in with my beauty blender, it blends in very well. Do not apply under the eye area direct from the stick. It will drag your delicate skin to bits. Rather use a finger, brush or sponge for a more delicate touch.
 
For the price I would say it is good value for money! I would definitely replace it once it runs out.

PROS

  1. Glossy black packaging
  2. Medium buildable coverage
  3. Not greasy
  4. Great for combination skin
  5. Silky texture
  6. Matte finish

CONS

  1. Limited color range (3 shades)
  2. Twist mechanism tends to jam
  3. Small amount of product.

I am thoroughly impressed with the quality of e.l.f. products taking into account the inexpensive price tags attached. They do perform well as well as live up to their claims. e.l.f. is definitely becoming a staple in my make-up bag and I cannot wait to do a e.l.f haul and share it with you.

DISCLAIMER: I received the above products free of charge from Samika review and share my honest opinion. All thoughts and opinions expressed herein are my own and not influenced by the developing company

2 thoughts on “E.L.F. Cosmetics Review

Leave a Reply

